Atlanta, GA trio Omni charged out of the gate in 2016, stunning everyone within earshot with their debut long-player, Deluxe, a dizzyingly refreshing amalgam of wiry post-punk jitters & a dash of zen cool. Multi-task, being released September 22nd via Trouble in Mind, is their latest offering & all signs point to the coveted goal of “next level.” As with Deluxe, Multi-task was recorded with friend & engineer Nathaniel Higgins at his studio as well as a remote cabin in the woods near Vienna, Georgia. “It gave a true peace/piece of mind away from the city” Frobos says, “We could work with no distractions or limitations at our own pace.”

Multi-task is a more musically adventurous step forward for Omni, keeping the frantic, fleet-fingered fingerpicking of Broyles’ guitar work & Frobos’ dead-cool delivery while expanding their musical palette & to include whispers of post-Roxy glam & Postcard Records pop. Multi-task balances the band’s trademark off-kilter & unconventional jams with an elegance not found with many of their contemporaries. Their underlying seductive sophistication creates an aura of romance that many post-punk bands dare not tread, and Omni pulls it off with grace & style. Their minimalist funk-fused agit-pop whirrs while simultaneously creating an album that is awash in the excitement of new love, or fleeting attraction. Listen to the first single, “Equestrian,” which the band say is “a song for and about the privileged and self-loathing. It can be unknowingly fun and disgusting at the same time to live in the now. Despicable/Applicable.”

MNI TOUR DATES:
Thu. July 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl: Irrelevant Music Fest
Wed. July 26 – Nashville, TN @ 5 Spot
Thu. July 27 – Indianapolis, IN @ State Street Pub
Fri. July 28 – Madison, WI @ The Terrace: Univ. of Madison
Sun. July 29 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Thu. Aug. 3 – Athens, GA @ Caledonia Lounge
Fri. Aug. 4 -Birmingham, AL @ Secret Stages
Mon. Aug. 7 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Tie. Aug. 8 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop Bar w/ Kevin Krauter / Peter Oren
Wed. Aug. 9 – Memphis, TN @ Growler’s
Thu. Aug. 31 – Amsterdam, NL @ OT301
Fri. Sep. 1 – Larmar Tree Gardens, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Sat. Sep. 2 – Manchester, UK @ Strange Waves Festival
Sun. Sep. 3 – Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Mon. Sep. 4 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Tue. Sep. 5 – Toulouse, FR @ Pavilion Sauvage
Wed. Sep. 6 – Madrid, ES @ Sirocco
Thu. Sep. 7 – Santiago De Compostela, ES @ WOS
Fri. Sep. 8 – Barcelona, ES @ Altaveu
Sat. Sep. 9 – Marseille, FR @ L’Emeobineuse
Mon. Sep. 11 – Basle, CH @ Renee
Wed. Sep. 13 – Zurich, CH @ Katakombe @ Sender
Thu. Sep. 14 – Bologne, IT @ Freakout
Fri. Sep. 15 – Lyon, FR @ Le Sonic
Sat. Sep. 16 – Orleans, FR @ Hop Hop
Sun. Sep. 17 – Lille, FR @ DIY
Mon. Sep. 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Tue. Sep. 19 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Wed. Sep. 20 – Dublin, IRE @ Whealan’s
Thu. Sep. 21- Glasgow, UK @ Hug & Pint
Fri. Sep. 22 – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Psychfest
Sat. Sep. 23 – Brighton, UK @ Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar

Write A Comment