We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Young States’ new music video for their song “Memory” (watch it below). The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming EP Past Truths | Present Lies, which is released to be released through Something To Write Home About on September 29th.

Young States bassist/vocalist Georgia Leeder comments on the video:

“The concept around the video for ‘Memory’ is about a woman who’s trying to erase her memories of a past relationship, to the extent where she sees her ex as a stranger. We worked with As A Button Productions for this video and again they did an awesome job! The performance side of it is split into two locations; the first being in a trailer to create a cramped and almost trapped feel, to suggest the effects of holding onto bad memories, and the other a bright, open space to suggest being free from these emotions and letting go. This ties in so well with the narrative as the lead feels free from the negative memories and emotions she felt from her past relationship.”

Hailing from Norwich, Young States are a four-piece band specialising in energetic and passionate punk rock.

Formed at the end of 2014, the band met at a music school in Norwich. Guitar and vocalist, Libby was on a sound engineering course, the others on music performance courses. Guitarist, Amy got Young States together as she was bored of seeing male band after male band, and wanted to form an all-female group. She approached the others in the corridors of college after seeing them carrying their instruments.

With a love of Brand New, Kids In Glass Houses, Defeater and Mallory Knox, Young States quickly wrote and recorded their debut EP Down to You, which saw them receive play from Scuzz TV, BBC Introducing and features in the pages of Kerrang!

Past Truths | Present Lies is about personal growth and letting go of the things that have previously caused you pain.

Lead singer and bass player Georgia says: “All the tracks on the EP have different meanings to some extent but the common thread between them all is that they’re all about my own (not-entirely-happy) feelings I’ve experienced in the past. The idea for the EP name comes from saying that I experience these exact feelings at the moment wouldn’t be true.”

Past Truths | Present Lies was produced by Drew Lawson (Roam/Summerlin/Me Vs Hero) and mastered by Grant Berry (All Time Low/Roam/Boston Manor) who gave the EP it’s Midas touch. After finally perfecting their sound, Young States look forward to sharing their new material with you and are ready to go places they’ve never been to before. Anthemic, dark and melodic in equal measure, this is their strongest statement yet.

Upcoming Shows:
6 October: Cheltenham – Cotswold Inn
7 October: Manchester – Aatma
8 October: Bournemouth – The Anvil
9 October: London – Surya
13 October: Birmingham – Cogs Bar
4 November: Bury St Edmunds – Hunter Club
17 November: Norwich – Waterfront

Connect with the band:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Write A Comment