American Football photo by Shervin Lainez

American Football have released “Give Me The Gun”, the second song from their new self-titled album, out October 21st on Polyvinyl Records. The band announced their sophomore album — their first new music in 17 years — a few weeks ago with the release of the first single “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long”. The news was met with incredible fervor from fans surprised by the unexpected development. It also helped that the new song lived up to expectations. “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long” wrote Noisey “has that same resonance, the steady, bright guitar, the prettiness through gentle chaos, that made—still makes—American Football intriguing,” and GQ exclaimed that “the band effortlessly re-channels the energy of its first album.”

On “Give Me The Gun” write NPR Music, we encounter “an American Football that’s gracefully grown like vines, outward and green, with sprawling roots. Busy, propulsive drums lead the song, with sparse harmonics and rippling vibraphone drifting between Kinsella’s words; it reverse-engineers American Football’s delicate nature, allowing the song to open wide.”

American Football will play a series of album release shows in Chicago, New York, Los Angeles, and London over the coming months. Tickets are on sale now and going quickly. American Football will be released in the UK and Europe via Wichita Records.

Pre-order American Football on limited edition vinyl and more here:

When American Football announced in 2014 that they would play live for the first time in 15 years, the built up appreciation for that eponymous LP physically manifested itself as they sold out 3 nights at Webster Hall in New York City in a matter of hours, and then went on to do the same at venues around the world. A quarter of a lifetime removed, and at times thousands of miles away from the house on the sleepy street in the middle of Illinois depicted on their debut album’s iconic cover, they found themselves playing to sold out crowds that numbered in the thousands in London, Tokyo, Barcelona and beyond.

At a time when reunions have become rote, American Football is decidedly an anomaly. There is no past glory to relive or reignite, nor the burden to branch out and break from a well-worn formula. Seventeen years later everything still feels brand new, because for them it is. They are a band that for one reason or another closed the lid on their creative output just as they were beginning an unforeseeable upswing, and are just now after a stasis returning to uncork it with the benefit of greater maturity and better musicianship. The sound is even more expansive, the lyrics less naive and more world-weary, the songs with greater depths to explore and layers to peel back throughout. “You can’t just forget all the other lives you’ve lived,” Mike Kinsella sings, and every single one of the nearly two decades worth of experiences since they last put pen to paper as American Football seem to bleed through on this record.

American Football is Steve Holmes (guitar), Mike Kinsella (vocals, guitar), Nate Kinsella (bass), and Steve Lamos (drums, trumpet). American Football was recorded this spring at ARC Studios in Omaha, NE and SHIRK Studios in Chicago, IL, and was produced by Jason Cupp.

American Football Track Listing:
1. Where Are We Now?
2. My Instincts Are the Enemy
3. Home Is Where the Haunt Is
4. Born to Lose
5. I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
6. Give Me the Gun
7. I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
8. Desire Gets in the Way
9. Everyone Is Dressed Up

Upcoming Shows:
October 29, 2016 – Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
January 28, 2017 – New York, NY – Terminal 5
February 11, 2017 – London, UK – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
February 25, 2017 – Los Angeles, CA – The Ace Hotel Theatre

Write A Comment