We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of two new songs from Corner Boys – “Norman” and “Waiting For 2020” (listen below). The tracks are taken from the band’s forthcoming album Waiting for 2020, which is scheduled to be released through Drunken Sailor Records. You can pre-order the album here.

About the band:

Waiting for 2020 collects 12 songs from the last year of Corner Boys. Songs about nostalgic paranoia, contempt, artificial intelligence, and letting what you love die, all filtered through a 2-minute burst of impatience and over-caffeination. Again we’ve recorded with Jeffrey McCloy (Tranzmitors, Fashionism), this time in a vacant basement apartment in East Vancouver, and mixed and mastered by Daniel Husayn at North London Bomb Factory. Without fail Jeffrey and Daniel both capture the Buzzcocks by way of Protex by way of Pointed Sticks influence we all need.

In the early 1970s MIT scientists created a modeling program that analayzed data and would predict the end of the world. The program, called World One, said that the year 2020 would be a critical tipping point in quality of life globally. Left unchecked, all life would end by 2040.

Tie that with another more recent thinktank experiment called Norman. An AI designed to consume the worst parts of the internet, and has since gone off the tracks. I don’t know if we need to wait until 2040 to see if World One is accurate or not.

Connect with the band:
Bandcamp | Facebook

Write A Comment