The Dangerous Summer Return, New Album To Be Released Next Year

Newly reformed and reunited with Hopeless Records, The Dangerous Summer has returned. The band, now composed of vocalist and bassist AJ Perdomo, guitarist Matt Kennedy and drummer Ben Cato, will head into the studio soon with producer James Paul Wisner (Underoath, Dashboard Confessional, Paramore) to record their upcoming fourth full-length, which will be released next year. In their time away, Perdomo, Kennedy and Cato had plenty of time to figure out who and where they wanted to be, and they’ve all returned to the same place.

The band’s forthcoming album, their first in four years, looks to build on an already accomplished discography. The Dangerous Summer’s first three albums-2009’s Reach For The Sun, 2011’s War Paint and 2013’s Golden Record-were more than just critically acclaimed: They were collections of visceral, textured alternative rock that shook audiences to their core with an unrivaled musical heft and lyrical honesty.

“We’re taking elements of what people always loved about the band and trying to push the limits and push things forward,” Perdomo explains of the upcoming album, “We’re pulling out of the darkness, and it’s really inspiring and uplifting.”

As The Dangerous Summer approach the next stage of their career, they do so with an overwhelming optimism that’s never been stronger. The band has confirmed a headline show in Baltimore, MD in September and will also appear at Four Chord Music Festival in Pittsburgh, PA with The Starting Line, State Champs and more. Details for both shows can be found below. Tickets can be found at

In celebration of the return of the band, Hopeless Records has reissued the bands’ classic catalog on limited edition vinyl. Check it out here:
Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more