Friend Club Records releases Common Sage’s Might As Well Eat The Chicken, We Won’t Be Here In The Morning EP on cassette, marking the effort’s release for the first time on a physical format. Cassette preorder begins today here.

Might As Well Eat The Chicken, We Won’t Be Here In The Morning reveals a band in transition. In 2018, the band dropped the criminally underrated Where Are You? I’m In Klamath Falls, Are You Here?, a collection of songs written by the band’s frontman Julian Rosen. Common Sage followed the release with relentless touring, sharing the stage with the likes of Blis, Carpool, Stay Inside, Good Looking Friends, and No Thank You.

While Common Sage’s inspired performances were solidifying the band’s deserved place on the indie rock landscape, the band was self-destructing behind the scenes. As members departed in pursuit of other adventures and passions, Rosen regained control of the reigns. He wrote songs in snippets on his own, and with what was left of the band, but was still largely uncertain of Common Sage’s future.

When 2020 turned New York City into a ghost town, Rosen immersed himself in Common Sage’s previously unreleased songs, finding unexpected continuity and meaning in newer tracks. Together, the songs comprise Might As Well Eat The Chicken …, a collection that is tense and spellbinding when woven together. The common thread—the unbridled, unspoiled energy of a band pushing past the boundaries of musical and interpersonal comfort zones.

Each song off the EP was recorded by a different engineer: Chris Johns from Stay Inside, Jesse Paller from June Gloom/Tall Friend and Evan Bernard from No Thank You/Slow Mass.

Might As Well Eat The Chicken… was initially released digitally August 14, 2020, with plans of a physical release to follow shortly thereafter. Hiccups in the production process resulted in a faulty and abandoned cassette run. The Friend Club Records release marks a turning point for Common Sage; the EP is given its proper due, and the band, as they exist today, can venture further into unwritten chapters of uncharted possibility. 

Common Sage have released a video compilation several songs on the album. Compiled by Doug Dulgarian (Jouska/they are gutting a body of water), it features three music videos by three separate artists: “wraparound background” by Olivia V HernSaw, “Daddy” by Derick Noetzel, and “Wet Grass” by M.O. Guzman.

Visit Common Sage here.


Tim Anderl is an American journalist from Dayton, Ohio, whose work has been published in Alternative Press, Strength Skateboarding Magazine, and Substream Music Press. He was previously the web editor of and is currently the editor of, a host of Sound Check Chat Podcast, and a contributing writer for New Noise Magazine, Ghettoblaster Magazine and Dayton City Paper.

Write A Comment