Goddamnit photo by Anthony Stull-Walsh

Philadelphia punk veterans Goddamnit have just announced their new album I’ll Never Be Okay, I’ll Never Be The Same, coming out March 3rd on Jump Start Records. They are now streaming their first single “Steady Diet of Sugar” (listen below).

The band commented on the song: “Some people hide behind a fake personality or lots of makeup, pretend to be happy, sweet and make sure everyone likes them. That’s not exactly a healthy way to live… like a steady diet of sugar.” – Arik Victor (guitar/vocals)

Track Listing:
1. Fix Dis
2. Letterbox
3. The Option
4. Steady Diet Of Sugar
5. Third Time’s A Charm
6. Stay The Same
7. Blue Jeans
8. Can’t Stand The View
9. Still Waiting
10. What Was Left
11. The Message

About Goddamnit:

Gritty, yet not polished, I’ll Never Be Okay, I’ll Never Be the Same is the second full-length effort from Philadelphia’s Goddamnit, a record hard to consider a sophomore effort from a group made up Philadelphia scene veterans.

I’ll Never Be Okay is dynamic from start to finish with big, guitar driven soundscapes that wear their nineties post-hardcore influences on their sleeves without sounding worn out or derivative. From the audio imagery of “Letterbox” to the hard driving “Steady Diet of Sugar” and “What Was Left”, Goddamnit swing and sway skillfully somewhere between a sonnet and pile driver almost at will. The almost out of place “The Message” not only shows the band’s range, but willingness to step away from the rest of the record and finish in a different stride.

Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter

Write A Comment