Holy Pinto Stream New Song “Mexico”

UK indie punks Holy Pinto have shared another charming cut from their upcoming debut full length, Congratulations, due out April 8th via Soft Speak Records. Check out the new song “Mexico,” taken from the Bob Cooper (Nai Harvest, Citizen, Self Defense Family) produced LP.

The band has also announced the start of their jam packed 2016 touring scheduling, with a lengthy run of dates in the UK and Europe. Preorders for Congratulations are available now.

Congratulations Track Listing:
1. Matches
2. Hospital Room
3. Elliot
4. Mexico
5. Floripa
6. Tooth
7. Phantom Limb
8. Fairylights
9. Graduation
10. Congratulations
11. Flowers (with Hospital pt 2.)

Holy Pinto is the charming indie-pop band of Canterbury duo Aymen Saleh and Ryan Hurley. In late 2013 after leaving University, the long-time school-friends rented a dark, damp, ominous room in an old abandoned cotton-mill in Manchester, and took to writing and recording music. After putting some demos online, they released their first official EP Stenography in 2015 and started touring heavily behind it; building the foundations of a passionate, loyal following and a family of friends in the process.

They now turn to release their debut album Congratulations. Built on the foundation of Aymen’s bright, shimmery rhythm guitar coupled with Ryan’s uniquely commanding, creative, and dynamic drumming, Holy Pinto are a very lyrically focused band that balances engaging storytelling with more than a hook or two.

Recorded with Bob Cooper (Nai Harvest, Citizen, Title Fight) and sent over to Philadelphia to be mixed by Vince Ratti (Tigers Jaw, Title Fight), Congratulations is at a heart a gritty, punchy album with a smooth, pop sheen. The production offers smatterings of organ, trumpet, keys and harmonies, which fulfill the sound they have always hinted at.

Holy Pinto’s songs quickly shift tone between happy and sad – none more evident than the distinction between songs such as the chirpy and playful “Tooth,” and the dark thoughts of “Hospital Room.” The storytelling and lyrics always emotive and wistful – whether painting a picture of two people reluctantly falling in love (“Matches”) or vocalising familial conflict (“Phantom Limb” and “Elliott”) – it is a very dreamy and tender album.

On the album’s title-track “Congratulations” – Aymen questions the young adult choice between putting down roots and close relationships, or pursuing the urge to ramble – “Every pin up on the map on your wall, is it worth letting lovers go?” Perhaps they’ve have chosen the latter – with the release of the album they’ve always wanted to make and a love of touring and traveling, they will now take to the road to spread the gospel according to Pinto in 2016 and well beyond.

Tour Dates:
04/07 Canterbury, UK @ The Ballroom
04/08 Southampton, UK @ Pre-Bar
04/09 Leeds, UK @ Santiago Bar
04/10 Birmingham, UK @ Carey’s
04/11 Brighton, UK @ The Hope and Ruin
04/23 Bournemouth, UK @ Blue Line Studios
04/25 Exeter, UK @ No Seatbelt
04/30 Canterbury, UK @ City Sound Project
05/05 Angers, FR @ Le Challenge
05/07 Antwerp, BE @ Music City
05/08 Cologne, GER @ AZ Köln
05/09 Munster, GER @ Baracke
05/11 Hamburg, GER @ tba
05/12 Berlin, GER @ tba
05/13 Dresden, GER @ Katy’s Garage
05/14 Krakow, POL @ Kawiarnia Naukowa
05/15 Prague, CZ @ Velbloud
05/16 Linz, AT @ Burnside
05/18 Vienna, AT @ Kramladen
05/21 Aachen, GER @ – tba
05/22 Marburg, GER @ Szenario

Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more