Hurry Streams New Song “When I’m With You”

Photo by Craig Scheihing

Philadelphia powerpop outfit Hurry are now streaming “When I’m With You” (listen below). “When I’m With You” is the second single off of the band’s new record Guided Meditation, coming to Lame-O Records on April 29th. Pre-orders for the album are available digitally and on vinyl now. The AV Club describes “When I’m With You” as “swiped straight from Brian Wilson’s songbook,” adding an upbeat contrast to the band’s first single “Nothing To Say,” the music video for which was released last month.

Hurry began less as a band and more as a man singing songs to himself in his apartment. Up until 2014, Hurry consisted exclusively of that one man–Matthew Scottoline — joined by a revolving group of friends for performances, while doing all of the songwriting and recording on his own.

Hurry, which cites influence in Teenage Fanclub, Guided By Voices, The Bats, and Brian Wilson, remained a solo project until the release of their debut Everything/Nothing. Scottoline finally secured bandmates in cousins Rob and Joe Decarolis, who joined him for the recording of the band’s first official record. Everything/Nothing was released on Hot Green Records in October of 2014, and the band went on to tour with everyone from Yuck to Beach Slang.

Hurry got roped into Lame-O Records when they recorded the song “Shake It Off” for their 2015 six-band split Strength In Weakness (also featuring Modern Baseball, Beach Slang and more). On April 29th, 2016, Hurry will release their spectacular indie-pop record Guided Meditation on Lame-O Records.

Guided Meditation Track Listing:
1. Nothing To Say
2. When I’m With You
3. Fascination
4. Love Is Elusive
5. Shake It Off
6. Sinking Feeling
7. Telepathic
8. Under Her Thumb
9. Wanna Be You

Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more