Here are five new records you should check out this week!

Moor Mother – “After Images”

Album: Analog Fluids Of Sonic Black Holes (Don Giovanni Records)
It’s not easy to make art that is experimental and interesting but also catchy as hell. “After Images,” from Moor Mother’s Analog Fluids Of Sonic Black Holes album, is just such a song. The Philadelphia artist blends and layers sounds to create profound and provocative music that is nothing short of riveting.

Have A Nice Life – “Sea of Worry”

Album: Sea of Worry (The Flenser Records)

“Sea of Worry,” the title track to the new album by Have A Nice Life, has surfy undertones darkened by the cloudy fuzz of shoegaze. The song is full of angst and frustration, but also packs a hint of groove.

Tsunami Bomb – “The Hathors”

Album: The Spine That Binds (Alternative Tentacles Records)

Tsunami Bomb play an anthemic brand of pop punk that fans of Dillinger Four and Against Me! will enjoy. The raw energy on songs like “The Hathors” make the California-based band irresistible.

Macseal – “Lucky For Some”

Album: Super Enthusiast (6131 Records)

“Lucky For Some” by Macseal is such a perfect indie pop song. It has great harmonies, satisfying melodies, and catchy hooks. Macseal’s new record, Super Enthusiast, is out today on beloved label 6131 Records.

Greet Death – “Do You Feel Nothing?”

Album: New Hell (Deathwish Records)

Flint, Michigan’s Greet Death are a mesmerizing indie band writing dark, guitar-heavy songs with reverb-laced vocals. The Deathwish Records band put out their latest album, New Hell today, with gloom-filled tracks that feel appropriate for the mid-autumn slump.


John Silva is a writer based out of Indianapolis who loves pro wrestling almost as much as he loves music. You can follow him on Twitter @hawkeyesilva.

Write A Comment