England post-metalcore quintet Architects have just announced that they will be releasing their ninth studio record For Those That Wish To Exist on February 26 thanks to Epitaph.

I will give you a second to compose yourself before I continue.

A follow-up to 2018’s Holly Hell, the record was self-produced pays tribute to the former guitarist and founding member Tom Searle and examines the ways we are all part of the world’s slow disintegration, wondering if we can tackle the challenges our out destructive potential as a species.

Environmental concerns have long been a part of Architects’s music, and they go so far as to use their platform to signal boost groups like Sea Shepherds, who oppose the ongoing practice of fox hunting in England, and who also attempt to tour and make merch that is sustainable and eco-friendly.

On the new album, Architects offer the following statement:

“This album was me looking at our inability to change to a way of life that would sustain the human race and save the planet,” summarizes principal songwriter Dan Searle. “I wanted to look in the mirror and ask ourselves the question of what are <we> going to do, as opposed to trying to point the finger at politicians. Change has to start on a personal level. The world has developed a culture of wanting someone else to deal with it, when we need to take our own responsibility. It has to start there.”

Track List:
1. Do You Dream of Armageddon?
2. Black Lungs
3. Giving Blood
4. Discourse Is Dead
5. Dead Butterflies
6. An Ordinary Extinction
7. Impermanence ft. Winston McCall (Parkway Drive)
8. Flight Without Feathers
9. Little Wonder ft. Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
10. Animals
11. Libertine
12. Goliath ft. Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro)
13. Demi God
14. Meteor
15. Dying Is Absolutely Safe

Photo by Ed Mason

Follow Architects on Facebook here.


Hardcore. Metal. Jazz. Cats. Scary Movies. Etc... Read more of my errant thoughts over at I Thought I Heard a Sound (https://thasound.blogspot.com/).

Write A Comment