Asphyx will drop their tenth full-length studio album Necroceros, on January 22 via Century Media. The album was recorded at Tom Meier Studio as well as at Paul Baayens’ The Mörserstudio while it was mixed/mastered by Sebastian “Seeb” Levermann at Greenman Studios featuring cover art by longtime Asphyx artwork designer Axel Hermann.  Check out the video for “Botox Implosion” from Necroceros below:

Frontman Martin van Drunen states: “It came out spontaneously, sounded powerful and since we used the word ‘Death’ in every release-title, so did ‘Necro.’ The idea was a sci-fi fantasy entity on an eternal course, existing only to devour planets, turning universes into meaningless voids.”

Asphyx formed in Overijssel, Netherlands in 1987 and currently features Stefan “Husky” Hüskens [Drums], Paul Baayens [Guitars], Alwin Zuur [Bass] & Martin van Drunen [Vocals].  Earlier this year Asphyx was named “One of the Greatest Rock Bands From Europe” by Kerrang! Necroceros is the long-awaited follow-up album to 2016’s Incoming Death.

Photo courtesy of Asphyx 

Preorder Necroceros here.


Theron Moore has been freelance writing since 1989 as a staff writer for SLAM Magazine (Stateline Area Magazine, Northern IL / Southern WI), and contributor to Jake Wiseley’s (Red Decibel Records) Sheet Metal Magazine. He’s also published zines Louder Than God, The Saint Vitus Press & Poetry Review, For Those About to Rock, and blogs Church of the Necronomicon and All My Friends Are Rock Stars (AMFARS). Moore has contributed music, & movie reviews, and artist interviews to websites, Wormwood Chronicles, The Sludgelord, New Noise Magazine and Metal Forces Magazine. He is the author of All My Friends Are Rock Stars, Volumes I-III; Gangsters, Harlots and Thieves; Belvidere, Books & Guns; Blood on the Screen, Blood on the Page; all titles available on Amazon.

Write A Comment