Denver black metallers, Wayfarer, will release a new full-length album titled, A Romance With Violence, October 16th, via Profound Lore Records.

A Romance With Violence features seven harrowing and triumphant anthems of the high plains and paints a poignant exploration of heroes and killers, the setting sun of a romantic era, and the shadow it has cast on the world we live in today.

Guitarist & vocalist Shane McCarthy comments:

This one is one of the most to-the-point, ripper tracks. While there are several textures explored throughout the record, this one is kind of dead-set. Against the ruthless silver-screen landscape the album projects, this one is total “death rides west” – it’s the pale horse clad in the iron of man’s invention, on the trail of expansionism.”

Wayfarer, from Colorado’s “Queen City of the Plains”, has origins beginning around 2012. Guitarist/vocalist Shane McCarthy formed the band with drummer Isaac Faulk, bassist/vocalist James Hansen, and original guitarist Tanner Rezabek.

They would release 2014’s Children of the Iron Age and 2016’s Old Soul via Prosthetic Records, after which they would replace the departed Rezabek with longtime collaborator Joe Strong-Truscelli as full-time guitarist. Partnering with Profound Lore Records in 2017, the band released World’s Blood in 2018 on the label, ushering in the current chapter and paving the way for this new release.

wayfarer band pic

Wayfarer is black metal of the American West. A cavalcade of fury, melancholia, and dust-laden storytelling; the band is informed by the fierce and adventurous spectrums of heavy music, along with the stark Americana of the “Denver Sound” artists that carved the identity of their home.


Pre-Order via BANDCAMP


Theron Moore has been freelance writing since 1989 as a staff writer for SLAM Magazine (Stateline Area Magazine, Northern IL / Southern WI), and contributor to Jake Wiseley’s (Red Decibel Records) Sheet Metal Magazine. He’s also published zines Louder Than God, The Saint Vitus Press & Poetry Review, For Those About to Rock, and blogs Church of the Necronomicon and All My Friends Are Rock Stars (AMFARS). Moore has contributed music, & movie reviews, and artist interviews to websites, Wormwood Chronicles, The Sludgelord, New Noise Magazine and Metal Forces Magazine. He is the author of All My Friends Are Rock Stars, Volumes I-III; Gangsters, Harlots and Thieves; Belvidere, Books & Guns; Blood on the Screen, Blood on the Page; all titles available on Amazon.

Write A Comment