Uniting current/former members of Nachtmystium, Wolvhammer, Usurper, Cobalt, Yakuza, Novembers Doom, Chrome Waves, Bones, and more, new Chicago-based outfit Contrition is preparing to release their debut album, Broken Mortal Coil, through Disorder Recordings in late October.

Contrition picks up where prior collective Doomsday left off, rebuilding the lineup with a new moniker and immense intensity. The band sees Jerome Marshall (Cobalt, Yakuza) on vocals, Garry Naples (Novembers Doom, Without Waves) on drums, Jeff Wilson (Chrome Waves, Deeper Graves, ex-Wolvhammer) on guitars and synth, and Jon Woodring (Bones, ex-Usurper) on bass.

The group’s Broken Mortal Coil debut is a gnarled, gritty affair, recorded during the 2020 lockdowns. Lead single “For Misery” showcases the band’s stomping, groove-forged, low-end savagery, with the influence of early ’90s death metal, thick modern tones, and a hostile, streetwise vibe. It also features guest vocals from none other than Trevor Strnad of The Black Dahlia Murder.

Broken Mortal Coil was engineered, mixed, and mastered by Jeff Wilson at Disorder Recordings, and completed with cover art by Ethan McCarthy (Primitive Man) and design by Wilson. Further expanding the record’s attack, Contrition invited several guests to contribute to the record, with additional vocals on “For Misery” by Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder), additional guitars on “Diluted” by Leon del Muerte (Impaled, ex-Exhumed), additional synth and vocals on “Desolation Star” by David Brenner (Gridfailure), and additional guitars on “Nihilistic Right” by Corey Parks (Graveripper). The album closes with a twisted rendition of Nirvana’s “Tourette’s.”

With the premiere of “For Misery,” founder Jeff Wilson reveals: “After spending most of the last couple years focusing on the more melodic side of things, the lockdown felt like the perfect time to work on something a little heavier. With the dissolution of Doomsday and Wolvhammer, I had a ton of riffs to work from, and it seemed logical to take that direction and turn up the filth tenfold. Jon, Garry, and Jerome were obvious choices to approach about coming onboard for this album, and they defied my expectations in bringing these rough ideas to life. Having Trevor guest on this particular track was the proverbial icing on the cake.”

Broken Mortal Coil track list:

  1. DilutedAmped
  2. Nihilistic Right
  3. For Misery
  4. Desolation Star
  5. Added Subtraction
  6. Without Guilt
  7. Tourette’s (Nirvana cover)

Preorder Contrition’s Broken Mortal Coil here.
Follow Contrition here.

Write A Comment