Rhode Island experimental rock group Darkside has announced that they will be releasing their next album and second full-length, Spiral, via Matador Records on July 23rd.

The band consists of Chilean electronic musician & vocalist Nicolás Jaar and American multi-instrumentalist Dave Harrington. They met in 2011 through their common friend and saxophonist Will Epstein and decided to start making music together.

Their last Psychic also came out on Matador and it was well-received. No reason to believe that their next record won’t be as good. Still skeptical? Check out their latest single “The Limit” below. Maybe that will help.

On their upcoming record Spiral, Jaar had the following to say:

“From the beginning, Darkside has been our jam band. Something we did on days off. When we reconvened, it was because we really couldn’t wait to jam together again.”

Harrington echoes this, saying:

“It felt like it was time again,” he said. “We do things in this band that we would never do on our own. Darkside is the third being in the room that just kind of occurs when we make music together.”

Photo by Jed DeMoss.

Preorder Spiral here.

Follow Darkside on Twitter and Instagram.


Metal. Cats. Scary Movies. Etc... Read more of my errant thoughts over on my blog at I Thought I Heard a Sound (https://thasound.blogspot.com/) or follow me on Twitter @thasoundblog

Write A Comment