Devendra Banhart has shared a dreamy cover of “Scenescof,” a track of T. Rex’s 1968 debut album. The song is the second single from Angelheaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan & T. Rex, produced by Hal Willner and out September 4.

Willner, who’s credit include work with Saturday Night Live, Lou Reed, and William S. Burroughs, spent several years creating and producing the collection before passing away in April from Covid-19. The first single for the compilation, Nick Cave’s cover of “Cosmic Dancer,” was released the same month. Willner also contributed electronics and synthesizers to Banhart’s “Scenescof.”

In a statement, Banhart shared thoughts on both the importance of the T. Rex songwriter and his relationship with Willner.

I was completely in love with Marc Bolan, from John’s Children to Dandy in the Underworld and everything in between,” says Devendra Banhart. “I remember the feeling of freedom I got from “Scenescof” …’I don’t need anyone to dictate all my fun smile your smile and then run’…. That line gave me the courage to carve out a little bit of fantasy in my life back in my late teens…. But now, the song will be inextricably linked with mourning, it was the last time I was in a studio with my dear dear friend Hal Willner … I haven’t even begun to process the heartbreak of that loss… we were just texting about Jerry Lewis and sending each other links to funny videos and weird songs and two weeks later he was gone…. Hal had the coolest, calmest demeanor… the kind that comes from having had really been through some shit and come out of it still caring about life, the world, and art…. I will miss him terribly… two angel headed hipsters, i’m honored to be a part of this tribute album ….

Angelheaded Hipster will feature recordings by U2 featuring Elton John, Joan Jett, Kesha, Perry Ferrell, Father John Misty, Peaches, Lucinda Williams, and others.

Pre-order the album here and see the full tracklist below.

AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan and T. Rex / Tracklist:

Disc 1
1. Children Of The Revolution – Kesha
2. Cosmic Dancer – Nick Cave
3. Jeepster – Joan Jett
4. Scenescof – Devendra Banhart
5. Life’s A Gas – Lucinda Williams
6. Solid Gold, Easy Action – Peaches
7. Dawn Storm – BØRNS
8. Hippy Gumbo – Beth Orton
9. I Love To Boogie – King Khan
10. Beltane Walk – Gaby Moreno
11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) – U2 feat. Elton John
12. Diamond Meadows – John Cameron Mitchell
13. Ballrooms Of Mars – Emily Haines 

Disc 2
1. Main Man – Father John Misty
2. Rock On – Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow – Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards – Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru – Nena
6. Teenage Dream – Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues – Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen – Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse – Jessie Harris
10. Mambo Sun – Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim’s Tale – Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
12. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise – David Johansen
13. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan – Maria McKee


Write A Comment