Progressive black metal titans Enslaved have just released the third single from their upcoming album Utgard, due for release October 2 via Nuclear Blast Records. This new track, “Urjotun,” comes alongside a psychedelic music video. Check it out below!

Vocalist Grutle Kjellson comments:

The lyrical idea for Urjotun had been spinning around in the chaos in the back of my head for quite a while, when Ivar sent me the riff-demo last autumn. I knew instantly that this was it, the very soundtrack of the rise of the primeval giant, the Urjotun!

Our mutual love and fascination for that early krautrock scene and for bands like Tangerine Dream and Kraftwerk finally fully ascended in an Enslaved song almost 30 years after we picked up those legendary Kraut-albums.

It’s funny that in Germany they referred to this kind of music as “Kosmische Musik,” cosmic music! And, that is exactly what this song is about: cosmic chaos. On top of this, director David Hall, made a perfect projection and visualization of our troubled minds.

Utgard Tracklist: 

1. Fires In The Dark
2. Jettegryta
3. Sequence
4. Homebound
5. Utgardr
6. Urjotun
7. Flight Of Thought And Memory
8. Storms Of Utgard
9. Distant Seasons

Utgard is due for release October 2 via Nuclear Blast records and is available to pre-order here.


Wales based writer with a love for the heavy, weird, and progressive.

Write A Comment