Reigning Sound’s “A Little More Time” marks the first new music from the Memphis group in nearly seven years. As expected, it’s another welcome dose of garage rock and Memphis soul from Reigning Sound frontman Greg Cartwright.

The track serves double duty as the lead single from the band’s forthcoming full-length, A Little More Time with Reigning Sound, due May 21 worldwide through Merge Records, as well as the A-side of “A Little More Time” b/w “Lonely Ghost” 7-inch single.

It’s been over 15 years since Cartwright uprooted to Asheville, but this new Memphis-made record shows the songwriter in top form and wholly inspired by his birthplace. And it’s not only the terrain that’s familiar: For this new LP, Cartwright also reunited with Reigning Sound’s original “Memphis lineup” of Jeremy Scott (bass), Greg Roberson (drums), and Alex Greene (keyboards), all of whom played on the band’s earliest recordings.

The new songs explore fresh lyrical and musical territories but at times also tastefully echo back to Reigning Sound’s Break Up, Break Down (2001) and Time Bomb High School (2002). And that’s not by chance—it’s just what happens when these musicians get in the same room. Their sonic chemistry hasn’t faded a bit.

A Little More Time is the original lineup’s first in-studio collaboration since 2005’s Home for Orphans LP, which Merge reissued last year.

Listen to “A Little More Time” below:

Pre-order and pre-save A Little More Time here.

Follow Reigning Sound on Facebook, Spotify, and Twitter.

Write A Comment