News: Knocked Loose Release EP Alongside Animated Short Film

Knocked Loose have released their stunning and visionary new EP, A Tear in the Fabric of Life, in full. It’s without a doubt their most dynamic and contained offering to date, and a balancing act: a mid-length EP with grand ambitions and scope, one full of new sonic elements and a cohesive aesthetic that hangs onto Knocked Loose’s trademark anthemic delivery.

A Tear in the Fabric of Life is a story written by Knocked Loose frontman/lyricist Bryan Garris and comes to life within an extraordinary animated film directed and created by Swedish filmmaker Magnus Jonsson, who is known for his visual curiosity and often exploring dark themes, in abstract and surreal worlds. The dark and abstract animations perfectly compliment the utter heaviness of the music, coming together to create a gripping visual and audible experience you won’t want to miss.

Vocalist Bryan Garris reveals: “It’s a story about extreme grief and the levels a person is willing to go through to get rid of it. The story follows a main character through a traumatic car crash late one night in the woods that leaves his partner deceased, and from there you spiral with him into the depression and guilt that comes with being the cause of something so detrimental. This is the first time we really dove in and tried to create something sonically that evokes a different range of emotions and over all something that introduces tension and anxiety with a massive pay off.

The story is told not only through words but through the music as well, which proved to be our biggest challenge in writing. Lyrically this story ended up being much more personal than we initially intended. We started with the idea to tell a fictional story but throughout the process, I found ways to incorporate real feelings of loss and mourning, as well as anger and self doubt. I’ve always been a very personal writer and this was originally a step away from that, into something more artistic. But in the end, it was just as therapeutic as writing a regular Knocked Loose record, and I think you’ll be able to hear that.”

A Tear in the Fabric of Life was recorded and produced by Will Putney, and is available via Pure Noise Records across all digital retailers. Vinyl formats will be available in-stores worldwide on December 17.

A Tear in the Fabric of Life track list:

1. Where Light Divides the Holler
2. God Knows
3. Forced to Stay
4. Contorted in the Faille
5. Return to Passion
6. Permanent

Purchase A Tear in the Fabric of Life here.
View upcoming Knocked Loose tour dates here.

Stay Connected