Photo credit: Paul Grace

JOHN, the moniker of London-based rock duo John Newton (drums, lead vocals) and Johnny Healey (guitar, backing vocals), has announced their new album, Nocturnal Manoeuvres. It will be released on October 8, 2021 via the band’s own Pets Care imprint and Brace Yourself Records.

“Šibensko Powerhouse,” the album’s scorching yet meditative new single features backing vocals from IDLES’ Adam Devonshire. The single is released alongside a new video directed by Ryan Gander OBE, where an animatronic mouse is programmed to sing Newton’s lead vocal. Gander, known for his playful and exploratory practice that jumps across a diverse range of materials and media, here explores the contrast between the scale of the animal and the power of the instrumentation.

Nocturnal Manoeuvres is the follow-up to JOHN’s second LP, Out Here On The Fringes (2019), which saw the emerging band break into the Top 40 of the UK Independent Vinyl Chart and join tours with the likes of METZ and IDLES.

Guitarist and backing vocalist Johnny Healey states: “‘Šibensko Powerhouse’ was the first thing we wrote following Out Here On The Fringes – through which we had realized our ability to create a much more expansive sound—even with the physical limitations as a duo. It helped open the next chapter, setting the somewhat cinematic tone for what Nocturnal Manoeuvres was to become.”

Nocturnal Manoeuvres finds the duo expanding upon their celebrated idiosyncrasies once more. It sees them returning to their trusted producer Wayne Adams (who was behind the boards for both of their previous albums) knowing his success in capturing their presence as a live band.

Realizing the expansive quality of the resulting recordings, they then enlisted mastering engineer Sarah Register (Protomartyr, Future Islands, Chastity Belt) in order to deliver the sense of space that the varied track-list deserved. The result is a colossal body of work—one that moves easily between cinematic post-rock, elastic post-hardcore and pummelling noise rock.

Nocturnal Manoeuvres track list:

1. Return to Capital
2. Šibensko Powerhouse
3. A Song for Those Who Speed in Built-Up Areas
4. Haneke’d
5. Austere Isle
6. Jargoncutter
7. Stadium of No
8. Power Out for the Kingdom
9. Northwood Turret
10. Nonessential Hymn

Nocturnal Manoeuvres is now available for preorder on vinyl, CD, cassette, and digitally here.

Preorder the “Šibensko Powerhouse” seven-inch here.

Write A Comment