California’s ska sextet Mad Caddies will release their new digital EP, House on Fire, October 16 via Fat Wreck Chords. The lead single from the EP, “Let It Go,” is out now.

Twenty-twenty is the band’s 25th anniversary, so they had big plans for the year. Unfortunately, the global pandemic ruined those plans, but this downtime ended up allowing the band to put the finishing touches on a bunch of songs they’ve been working on since 2017. 

These songs, the five tracks on House On Fire, mark the band’s first new, original music in six years.

Mad Caddies House On Fire

Caddies bassist Graham Palmer says: “We started writing this collection of songs shortly after releasing Dirty Rice in 2014. It was put on hold a bit as we worked on and toured for Punk Rocksteady, so this downtime recently has allowed us to finish it up.”

Lead single “Let It Go” is a chilled-out ska number, but the rest of the EP is an unexpected turn away from ska and punk—take the doo-wop and brassy horn line of “Waiting For the Real Thing” for example—while still having that distinct Caddies sound.

Palmer says: “We’ve always tried to incorporate different genres within our punk/ska roots, and with multiple songwriters in the band, we have a lot of different influences. So we never really feel anything is a real departure, but more of ‘How can we make this genre Caddies?’ It’s a fun challenge for us. We’ve wanted to do a ’50s-ish type song for a while, so we’re stoked to get it out there.”

House On Fire’s origins date back to 2017, but the studio work mainly took place this year during quarantine with longtime creative collaborator Thom Flowers (Lagwagon, the Ataris) and drummer Todd Rosenberg handling mixing. Frontman Chuck Robertson led the collaborative songwriting process, with new trumpeter Mark Bush (who joined the band in 2018) adding some new blood and positive vibes.

Palmer says: “Mark is a great musician and great addition to the band. He has a real handle on horn arrangement and theory, and he is always a good person to have in the room.”

The band have hinted that their silver anniversary isn’t canceled, just postponed, with new music and potential touring on the horizon for 2021.

Check out the video for “Let It Go” below, and pre-order the EP for just $5 here!

House On Fire Track Listing

  1. Let It Go
  2. Waiting for the Real Thing
  3. Strange Days
  4. Dogs of War
  5. Wake my Baby

Images courtesy of Mad Caddies


Pop-culture journo: currently blabbing-on at Horror Geek Life & New Noise Magazine. Punk rock fangrrrl, horror nerd, lipstick lover & pizza aficionado. Be Excellent to Each Other.

Write A Comment