Grammy®-winning heavy metal giants Mastodon, turned 20 this year. In honor of jamming together for two decades, the group will unleash a rarities collection titled Medium Rarities on September 11th, releasing on all formats including, a pink vinyl pressing via Reprise Records. Among the many rare highlights included here is an unreleased track “Fallen Torches,” that was recorded back in 2019.

“Fallen Torches” was recorded in Atlanta in 2019, originally planned to be released in support of a European tour. The track was delayed so the band could focus on the release of Stairway to Nick John, a tribute to their late, long time manager Nick John, with proceeds going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research in his honor. As expected, the song completely jams and also features guest vocals by the bands longtime friend and collaborator Scott Kelly of Neurosis.

Medium Rarities presents a bevy of classic covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, B-sides, and live recordings on one complete package for the very first time. Album pre-orders are available now and will include an instant download of “Fallen Torches.” 

Medium Rarities tracklisting:

  1. Fallen Torches (Previously Unreleased)
  2. A Commotion (Feist Cover)
  3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental version)
  4. Capillarian Crest (Live)
  5. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (The Flaming Lips Cover)
  6. Toe To Toes (Instrumental version)
  7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)
  8. Atlanta (Feat. Gibby Haynes)
  9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)
  10. Cut You Up With A Linoleum Life (Aqua Teen Hunger Force)
  11. Blood & Thunder (Live)
  12. White Walker (Game of Thrones)
  13. Halloween (Instrumental version)
  14. Crystal Skull (Live)
  15. Orion (Metallica Cover)
  16. Iron Tusk (Live)

Pre-order Medium Rarities here.

Write A Comment