The Cleveland, OH metal outfit Midnight have shared the new single “Rising Scum” from upcoming album Rebirth by Blasphemy, out January 24 on Metal Blade Records. Performed entirely by multi-instrumentalist Athenar, the track is a fiery intro to the album.

Led by a thumping tom drum beat summoned from some dark depths, “Rising Scum” plays with echoes of black metal or 80s thrash, but it’s slower and sparser, at least in comparison. That leaves all the more room for the grueling drum beat and Athenar’s guttural howls.

“Rising Scum” follows the titular lead single as a second taste of Rebirth by Blasphemy. Fans can get an additional preview of the album at Midnight’s listening party on January 10 at Saint Vitus Bar in New York City, where the band will be present/

Preorder Rebirth by Blasphemy here and view the tracklist below.

1. Fucking Speed and Darkness
2. Rebirth by Blasphemy
3. Escape the Grave
4. Devil’s Excrement
5. Rising Scum
6. Warning from the Reaper
7. Cursed Possessions
8. Raw Attack
9. The Sounds of Hell
10. You Can Drag Me Through Fire


Write A Comment