Southern Lord Recordings, in conjunction with DVL Recordings, is planning a Neon Christ reissue for the first official Record Store Day drop of 2021 on June 12th. Neon Christ were the teenage punk/hardcore/crossover band of guitarist/vocalist William DuVall. DuVall would of course go on to join Bl’ast!, and eventually replace the late, great Layne Staley as frontman of Alice In Chains. In the mid ’80s, Neon Christ shared the stage with hardcore heavyweights like Dead Kennedys, Circle Jerks and Corrosion of Conformity.

Simply titled 1984, side one will include the entire ten song Neon Christ 7″ EP. Side two will feature lesser known material from a session at at the home studio of Foghat’s Nick Jameson. Only one of those four tracks, “Ashes to Ashes” on the now legendary International P.E.A.C.E. Benefit Compilation, was ever released. Check out the complete track listing, a teaser for the new record, and the complete Neon Christ EP below. 

1. Parental Suppression
2. The Draft Song
3. Winding
4. Bad Influence
5. Neon Christ
6. We Mean Business
7. Yoof
8. It’s Mine
9. Doom
10. After
11. The Knife That Cuts So Deep
12. Ashes To Ashes
13. Blind Patriot
14. The Death They’ll Give You

DuVall traveled to Nashville, TN to Welcome To 1979 to work on this project. It’s one of the few remaining studios capable of doing completely analogue mastering for vinyl. 1984 is cut at 45 RPM for optimal sound quality, and will be packaged in a full color gatefold sleeve. It will also include a 12 page oral history of the band with never before seen photos.


Write A Comment