NYC psych-sludge rockers Netherlands announce the October 30th release of Zombie Techno Undead, a new expanded version of their acclaimed 2020 album, Zombie Techno.

Somewhere between the colossal weight of the Melvins, the sugary hooks of Torche, the gleeful drama of Rush, and the absurdism of Frank Zappa, Netherlands’ singular sound lies. Falsetto vocals, brain-quaking synthbass, manic guitar shred and martial drumming combine in supremely weird, catchy songs that rage and groove, as frontman Timo Ellis (a Brooklyn avant-rock mainstay and collaborator of Yoko Ono, Cibo Matto, and many more) delivers scathing critiques of capitalism, materialism, and environmental devastation.

Zombie Techno, Netherlands’ fifth full-length album, was originally released in June of this year. In the words of Kerrang! Magazine, who premiered the animated music video for the album’s title track: “If you’ve never done psychoactive drugs in a big city, listening to Netherlands will give you an idea of what the experience is like… Their music feels panicked and hysterical, all while vocalist Timo Ellis moans in your ear like a robot’s ghost.”

Revolver Magazine premiered the video for standout single “We’re All Gonna Die One Day,” stating: “Purveying a kaleidoscopic, sugary yet heavy sound that’s been described as ‘psych-prog-sludge-pop,’ New York’s Netherlands have won over big-name fans including Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher and Gojira’s Joe Duplantier, the latter of whom has called them ‘one of my absolute favorite bands!'”

Out October 30th, just in time for Halloween, Zombie Techno Undead sees the addition of the following three bonus tracks:

“Go Wrong” and “P.T.S.D.” are two, brand new, blazing Netherlands originals, while “Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)” is a cover of The Jacksons’ 1978 classic, reimagined in true Netherlands fashion as a euphoric dirge. Of The Jacksons’ song, Netherlands’ Timo Ellis states: “I credit this song with being one of the fundamental inspirations for my wanting to become a musician at all.”

With Zombie Techno Undead giving fans some ghoulish treats for the autumnal holiday, Netherlands’ as-yet-untitled sixth full-length album has already been recorded with Converge’s Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studio (Torche, High On Fire) and mixed by Grammy-nominated producer Alex Berthelot (Gojira, Frank Ocean). Stay tuned for more updates.

1) Zombie Techno
2) Casual Monsters
3) Morris
4) Shirestarter
5) Force Quit!
6) U.F.O. D.U.I.
7) This Time My Broken Heart Stays Open
8) We’re All Gonna Die One Day
9) Requiem
10) Go Wrong –– bonus track
11) Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground) –– bonus track
12) P.T.S.D. –– bonus track

Timo Ellis – vocals, guitar
Chealsea “Thee Chuq” Wierbonski – synthbass
Josh Musto – synthbass
Damien Shane Moffitt – drums


Always writing... Always. Read my errant thoughts over at I Thought I Heard a Sound ( or follow me on Twitter @thasoundblog

Write A Comment