News: New Found Glory Announce ‘Make The Most Of It’ Acoustic Album and Tour

Pop punk legends New Found Glory are stripping things back with a new acoustic album, Make The Most Of It, out January 20 via Revelation Records. Listen to new single, “Dream Born Again,” now. The band will also tour the new record, kicking off January 28 in St. Louis, MO.

Make The Most Of It features seven brand new tracks written in the wake of guitarist Chad Gilbert’s cancer diagnosis, alongside seven live acoustic versions of fan favorites. Mixed by Mark Trombino (blink-182, Jimmy Eat World), the album is a rumination on what it means to grieve, to live, to approach every day with appreciation and a sense of fulfillment. 

The Make The Most Of It Acoustic Tour makes stops across the country at unique, primarily seated venues before concluding in March in Miami Beach, FL, with special guest Leanna Firestone making appearances at all dates as well. Tickets are on sale now.

In December 2021, fresh off the celebratory Pop Punk’s Still Not Dead Tour in support of their 10th album, Forever + Ever x Infinity, Gilbert was found unresponsive in bed at home, rushed to a local hospital, and diagnosed with an eight-inch cancerous tumor, a rare pheochromocytoma. Hospital stays, surgery, and a long road to recovery followed—but, in typical New Found Glory fashion, so did the songs.

Gilbert says: 

“I didn’t want this to be the ‘cancer record’ originally, but when we went on tour and people started hearing the story and connecting to it, I gave up on trying to control the narrative. Not all bands are dealt these cards, but we were. Let’s take these songs and help the disease get awareness and raise money for a cause that’s working on education and research for my rare cancer.

Even though the songs are sadder, they’re still hopeful. You hear so much online about mental health and fear and anxiety. I feel proud that we can release an album with joy and honesty in a way that will hopefully make people less fearful of life. A lot of times we punish ourselves for things that might never happen. I’m going through something that did happen, but doing it with hope and joy and a greater appreciation.”

A percentage of proceeds from Make The Most Of It will go to The Pheo Para Alliance, the longest-standing internationally recognized leader in advocacy for, and awareness of, pheochromocytoma.

Listen to “Dream Born Again” below, and preorder Make The Most Of It here. Grab tickets to the Make The Most Of It Acoustic Tour here.

Follow New Found Glory: Facebook/Twitter/Instagram

Make The Most Of It Tracklist:

  1. Dream Born Again
  2. Mouth To Mouth
  3. Get Me Home
  4. Watch The Lilies Grow
  5. More Than Enough
  6. Kiss The Floor
  7. Bloom
  8. Understatement
  9. All Downhill From Here
  10. Dressed To Kill
  11. The Story So Far
  12. Failures Not Flattering
  13. My Friends Over You
  14. Hit Or Miss

Make The Most Of It tour poster

Photo courtesy of Stevie Lowenstein

Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more