News: Nightmarer Debut ‘Taufbefehl’ Featuring Guest Vocals By Members Of Valborg

Dissonant death metal summoners Nightmarer today unveil their video for “Taufbefehl.” The track appears on the band’s second full-length, Deformity Adrift, scheduled for release May 5th via Total Dissonance Worship and Vendetta Records.

Watch Nightmarer’s “Taufbefehl” video here.

Forged in 2014, the international collective known as Nightmarer, which features within its ranks current and former members of The Ocean, Convulsing, Gigan, War From A Harlot’s Mouth, and more, set out to derive only the most extreme elements of their previous musical endeavors and take them to much more miserable and punishing levels.

Inarguably the band’s most diverse work to date, Deformity Adrift ventures far beyond the conventions of the already unconventional genre of dissonant death metal, without surrendering an ounce of viciousness. A thirty-two-minute sonic behemoth, the record is at once confounding and ravaging. Strong nuances of industrial and doom metal can be heard throughout the record’s nine tracks concluding fittingly with a suffocating wall of sound that leaves its listeners bruised, battered, and shaken.

Elaborates the band on their latest single:
“Our second single is a collaborative song between Nightmarer and Valborg, who are undoubtedly Germany’s best metal band. ‘Taufbefehl’ roughly translates to ‘baptizing orders’ and features German guest vocals, performed by Christian Kolf and Jan Buckard of Valborg. It’s a stoic, primitive, harsh, and blasphemous machine that will eat your soul. Make of the accompanying music video what you will… Open The Wound. Kreatur Des Terrors. Taufbefehl.”

Guitars on Deformity Adrift were recorded by Simon Hawemann at Sludge Studios, vocals and additional guitars were recorded by Keith Merrow at Merrowsound, all bass was recorded by Brendan Sloan at Overland, and drums were recorded by Marc Wüstenhagen at Dailyhero Recordings. The record was mixed and mastered by Raphaël Bovey at MyRoom Studio and comes adorned in the cover art of Jeanne Comateuse.


Nightmarer’s Deformity Adrift will be released by Total Dissonance Worship in the US and Vendetta Records in Europe on CD, vinyl, cassette, digital, and streaming formats. Find preorders here.

Nightmarer hit the extreme metal underground with their 2016-released debut EP Chasm. The furious whirlwind of low-end dissonance and pulverizing heaviness immediately took the scene by storm and paved the path to a record contract with Season Of Mist.

The band’s following full-length Cacophony Of Terror (2018) and their appearance on the 2019 edition of the Devastation On The Nation Tour, earned the band a strong, diehard following, while the addition of guitarist Keith Merrow (Merrow, Conquering Dystopia) in the same year, only further cemented their reputation as a band to watch closely.

In early 2020, Nightmarer parted ways with Season Of Mist to launch their own label, Total Dissonance Worship. Under that banner, the band released the single “Primordial Grit” and 2021 EP Monolith Of Corrosion to critical acclaim from both fans and critics alike.

By 2021, most of the band relocated to Portland, Oregon to finish the production of their long-awaited, second full-length: this year’s Deformity Adrift.


John Collett – vocals
Simon Hawemann – guitars
Keith Merrow – guitars
Brendan Sloan – bass
Paul Seidel – drums

Additional musicians:

Christian Kolf and Jan Buckard (Valborg) – guest vocals on “Taufbefehl”
Eeli Helin – soundscapes and noise on “Taufbefehl”
Jesse Zuretti and Robert Bruckmayer – orchestration, soundscapes, samples on “Obliterated Shrine”

Follow Nightmarer on Facebook

Photo courtesy of Peter Voigtmann

Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more