On Valentine’s Day, Tame Impala released their fourth album, The Slow Rush. The largely time-obsessed release finds the Kevin Parker-led band further expanding their sound both into the mass accessibility and scale of pop and into more warped and unexplored corners of sound.

Currents, Kevin Parker’s third album under the Tame Impala moniker, saw the band moving closer to a pop world they’d often flirted with as increasing popularity saw the group reach festival headliner status. The Slow Rush will likely pick up where that release left off for most fans, offering pop-friendly material (lead single “Borderline”) alongside state-of-the-art, arena-sized alt-rock (“Lost in Yesterday”) and funky psychedelia (“One More Year”).

Clocking in at almost an hour long, the 12 songs on The Slow Rush certainly offer plenty for Tame Impala fans to dig into.

Stream and purchase The Slow Rush here.


Cameron Carr's writing has appeared in New Noise Magazine, Tuned Up, Susbtream Magazine, and The Deli, among other publications.

Write A Comment