We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Norma Jean’s new song “Forever Hurtling Towards Andromeda” (listen below). The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming seventh full-length Polar Similar, which is scheduled to be released on September 9th through Solid State Records. The song features guest vocals from Coalesce vocalist Sean Ingram.

Pre-order Polar Similar here.

Norma Jean vocalist Cory Brandon comments on the song:

“This song deals with music being a cathartic medicine for us. Growing up in poor neighborhoods, some rough situations, and just seeing life through that glass. Music is what we turned to. There was nothing that could ever sway us from it. As musicians, it was never about “making it” to us. We are always where we want to be.

Because the song is about our love of music and what it’s gotten us through, we wanted to bring in one of our favorite musicians to write something for it. Sean is a good friend and easily one of our favorite lyricists / vocalists in the world. Sean lives in Kansas where our producer Josh is from so it worked out perfectly getting him on the track. We had been talking for years and years about collaborating, this song came out and felt like a perfect fit. It seems to conjure a little bit of the Coalesce spirit as well.”

Guitarist Jeff Hickey adds:

“This was one of the earlier songs in the writing process. I think it carries a bit of a change in pace/mood from a lot of the record and it was an honor having Sean Ingram (Coalesce) lend his vocal talents to it. It’s basically about persevering and doing what you love despite whatever obstacles, whether people or situations, stand in your way. ‘What has to, does.'”

Polar Similar finds Norma Jean unafraid to take risks, and evolving both sonically and lyrically. A dynamic album that contorts from aggressive to melodic and everywhere in between, Polar Similar dives headfirst into new territory while maintaining the unbridled heaviness that earned Norma Jean their loyal fanbase. All of these musical twists compliment vocalist Cory Brandan’s startlingly honest lyrics that address his personal struggles more directly than ever before.

NPR noted the complex new sound on “1,000,000 Watts” saying that the track, “grooves and lashes out wildly like a caged animal, but more than ever Norma Jean colors the chaos with brooding hues. Stomping riffs alternate with angular and delayed guitar melodies in a grey haze, as Cory Brandan builds his moody croons into raging screams.”

Polar Similar Track Listing:
1. I. The Planet
2. Everyone Talking Over Everyone Else
3. Forever Hurtling Towards Andromeda
4. 1,000,000 Watts
5. II. The People
6. Death is a Living Partner
7. Synthetic Sun
8. Reaction
9. III. The Nebula
10. The Close and Discontent
11. An Ocean of War
12. A Thousand Years a Minute
13. IV. The Nexus


1 Comment

Write A Comment