We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of The Mahones’ new song “Ghost Of A Whiskey Devil” (listen below). The track is taken from the band’s greatest hits compilation The Very Best: 25 Years Of Irish Punk, which is scheduled for release on August 26th through Sailor’s Grave Records.

Finny McConnell of The Mahones comments on the song:

“‘Ghost Of A Whiskey Devil’ is a very special song and one of my favorites. I wrote it about my late best friend and musical mentor Barry Williams from Dublin, Ireland. He was the guy who convinced me to form The Mahones for a one off gig on St. Patrick’s Day show at his Irish pub in Kingston Ontario, Canada called The Toucan back in 1990. We did the show and it went over so well, that here we are 25 years!”

The Mahones Tour Dates:
July 30 – George Street Festival – St. John, NF Canada
Aug 13 – Fergus Highland Games – Fergus, ON Canada
Sept 10 – Fort Henry Celtic Festival – Kingston, ON Canada
Sept 23 – Get Shamrocked Festival – Murrieta, CA USA
Oct 20 – Bugerweeshuis – Deventer, Netherlands
Oct 21 – Ex-Haus – Trier, Germany
Oct 22 – MTC – Cologne, Germany
Oct 23 – Musik & Frieden – Berlin, Germany
Oct 25 – Derur Kert – Budapest, Hungary
Oct 26 – Arena – VIenna, Austria
Oct 27 – Dynamo – Zurich, Switzerland
Oct 28 – Officine Sonore – Vercelli, Italy
Oct 29 – Dublin House – San Benedetto del Tronto, Italy
Oct 30 – Swamp Club – Massa, Italy
Oct 31 – Centrale Rock Club – Erba, Italy

Formed on St. Patrick’s Day in 1990 in Kingston, ON by Irish born Finny McConnell, The Mahones have become an institution of Irish punk rock for the last 25 years. Their list of accolades and achievements during that time is nearly endless, from having their track “Paint The Town Red” featured in a pivotal part of Academy Award winning film “The Fighter” to being awarded Celtic Rock Album of the Year by Punk.ie (Ireland) for their 2014 recordThe Hunger & The Fight..

The Mahones are comprised of McConnell (lead vocals/guitar/mandolin), Katie Kaboom (accordion/keyboards/mandolin/vocals), Sean Winter (banjo/mandolin/harmonica/vocals), Sean “Riot” Ryan (bass guitar/vocals), Michael O’Grady (accordion/tin whistle/guitar/vocals) and Scruffy Wallace (bagpipes/tin whistle/guitar/vocals) who has re-joined the band after spending 2003-2015 with Dropkick Murphys and rounds out the group. Together, the band is revisiting and re-recording some of their most beloved songs from the last two decades and half for 25 Years of Irish Punk!

The Very Best: 25 Years of Irish Punk Track Listing:
01. Scruffy’s Intro
02. A Great Night On The Lash
03. Paint The Town Red
04. Shakespeare Road
05. GIve It All You Got
06. A Drunken Night In Dublin
07. Ghost Of A Whiskey Devil
08. Across The USA
09. Streets Of New York
10. Queen And Tequila
11. One Last Shot
12. Down The Boozer
13. Angels and Devils
14. Is This Bar Open ‘Til Tomorrow
15. Teenage Kicks
16. Drunken Lazy Bastard
17. The Hunger & The Fight
18. Punk Rock Saved My Life
19. Last One To Die
20. Alternative Ulster
21. Wild Rover (Live In Italy)


Write A Comment