New Noise Magazine is pleased to bring forth the full premiere of A Thousand Shadows, A Single Flame by Quicksilver Daydream. The EP kicks off with “Beyond The Iron Gate,” sending the listener into a vintage tinged age of ethereal rock music. There’s plenty of layers and melodies to the song, showcasing the overall writing wonder of the New York act. The psychedelia and folk side of Quicksilver Daydream makes plenty of appearances well, especially in the slow burner “Ferryman.” The song’s ambiance is hazy, almost as if the world could be warping in front of you. “Brother Mountain” ends the release with a quick pulse of urgent rhythm pieces and a steady vocal delivery; a total sing along. The EP is out on February 9th.

“A Thousand Shadows, A Single Flame has been a long time in the making. Joey Deady, Brett Banks, Cole Emoff and I wrote these songs, what seems like ages ago  performing them in various mutations around the country with our old band, Wild Leaves. Sometimes the best thing to do with a song you don’t fully understand is set it aside for a while. In this case, distance offered a clearer perspective and a way to capture them in the manner we envisioned.

A Thousand Shadows, A Single Flame is a phantasmagoria of mythological characters and symbolic landscapes. Each song is an allegory of the existential and philosophical search for The Truth. 

The EP is self-produced. Inspired by a conversation with one of our favorite producers, Thom Monahan, we decided to capture the most epic sound we could summon from the limited resources we had. We set up a makeshift studio in our Bushwick practice space and recorded the songs live to tape in two days. Mixing and overdubs took place over the following months, split between Petaluma, CA and Brooklyn, NY. During that period, Glenn Forsythe joined us on keys, adding the final touches. The tracks were then mastered by TW Walsh (Foxygen, Richard Swift). ” – Quicksilver Daydream

A Thousand Shadows, A Single Flame is available on limited-edition cassette via Vestibular Records.

Top photo by Dustin Condren

Quicksilver Daydream is an experimental psychedelic-folk band led by Adam Lytle. Their recordings combine brooding, surrealistic lyrics with a nebulous mix of mellotron strings, woozy synthesizers, soaring guitars, and reverberating vocals. The band draws from a deep pool of influences, owing as much to early psychedelic pioneers Pearls Before Swine and The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band, as they do to the compositions of Ennio Morricone and Baudelaire.

Like the true innovators of Psychedelia, Quicksilver Daydream looks beyond tradition, creating a modern sound awash in electronic oscillations and rhythmic evocations. Employing both the mechanical and mythical, the band paints sweeping, symbolic landscapes, conjuring worlds that vibrate between the hallucinatory and nostalgic.

Formed in 2016 as a DIY recording project, the Brooklyn-based band released their debut LP Echoing Halls in June 2017.

When it came to interpreting the songs live, Lytle enlisted long-time collaborators, Brett Banks (Bass), Cole Emoff (Drums), and Joey Deady (Lead Guitar). Having cut their teeth together in the band Wild Leaves, their sound crystallized immediately. Tough, tight and together.

In the fall of 2017, Quicksilver Daydream announced the follow-up EP, A Thousand Shadows, A Single Flame .

Facebook | Bandcamp


This is a rock n' roll takeover.

Write A Comment