EP Premiere: Hot Knife – Dread

Hot Knife’s new EP Dread, out April 20 via Black Numbers, is the result of many passionate musicians coming together to make something epic.

“We wrote and recorded this over the course of a year. It was written in rehearsal studios in Bushwick. Short and sweet, quality over quantity,” says vocalist and guitarist Luke Taylor.
“We are really proud of Dread; it feels very representative of our style, and we had a blast making it. It’s an anxious record, lyrically. Five songs created in weird, unsettling times. When it’s over, play it again.
“We called the record Dread because it’s largely a record about anxiety. Macro-level anxieties about what is happening in the world, but then also personal anxieties—what is my role in that context? How did I get here? How do I cope with this?”
Dread was produced by Jesse Cannon (The Mezingers, Misfits, Saves The Day, Dillinger Escape Plan) and engineered by Brian DiMeglio at Found Soundation Studios in Fort Greene, Brooklyn. It was then mixed and mastered by Jason Livermore (Bouncing Souls, Descendents, Teenage Bottlerocket) at The Blasting Room in Fort Collins, CO.

Hot Knife are pieced together of members of other notable bands who all ended up in the right place at the right time. Their story begins when guitarist Ryan Weber (formerly of Spanish Gamble) moved to New York from Florida after an offer from Hot Knife’s future drummer Matt Ferraro (formerly of Candy Hearts) in 2015.

“He knew I was looking to move and offered me a room out of the blue,” Weber says. “I moved two weeks later. I knew I definitely wanted to start another band, but I didn’t know many people.” One night at a show, Weber ran into Vic Castello, whom he had known as the bass player from Static Radio NJ.
“Vic said, ‘Hey, we should start a band’ since we were both orphaned from our former bands. I told him I knew a drummer—Matt—and he said he thought he knew someone who could sing, which was Luke [Taylor]. From there, the band wrote “My Old Friend” and released their debut EP My Fangs via Black Numbers in 2017.
Dread Tracklist
1. Rude
2. Space Weapons
4. Rippin Buds, Rippin Buds
5. First Street
Stay Connected

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more