Album Review: Gost – Prophecy


The Texas-based artist GOST is putting out a new full-length album, Prophecy, on March 8 via Metal Blade Records. The album has 13 tracks and a run-time of roughly 47 and a half minutes.

Prophecy is an album that crosses electronica with slasher-wave/vapor-wave. It ebbs and flows between the two genres very nicely. The samples used are quite interesting as it borders between a multitude of different sources. For example, the opening track, “Judgment,” utilizes sounds from an instrumental version of “The Star-Spangled Banner” with a buzzing sound put over it.

The majority of the songs on this album are instrumental, and when the track does have lyrics, there are a limited amount of them. Regardless, the impact and message are very deep and powerful. In regards to the vocal style, it is very distorted and has a classic slasher movie feel between the mutters and screams. The vocals contribute a new element from the ones that are purely of samples. The way that the censorship and protection rights are being attacked within these times is something that is present within these tracks.

I find that during the track, “Through The Water,” the line, “You’re just like your father before you” implicates that society isn’t changing; it just keeps to the same and those who are pushing for change will never get it because there are so many who want to keep to what the older generations think and feel. As for “Widow Song, standout lines include: “The church has fallen/The altars have become undone/A dead forgotten son.” There’s definitely connotation that organized religion is something that will fall in the future, and the “dead forgotten son” refers to Jesus. As for the second verse, “The buildings topple/The flags have all burned in the sun/Sacred destruction,” it speaks to a fall of democracy.

I would say that my favorite track is “Obituary” due to all of the heavy samples and instrumentation. At the same time, unlike the other tracks, these samples don’t take away from any other electronica components. On other tracks, I find that they clash too much but there’s very little within this track. It’s something that you don’t expect but at the same time do.

Prophecy Track Listing:

  1. Judgment
  2. Prophecy
  3. Death In Bloom
  4. Deceiver
  5. Obituary
  6. Temple Of Tears
  7. Decadent Decay
  8. Widow Song
  9. Golgotha
  10. Digital Death
  11. Shelter
  12. Through The Water
  13. Leviathan

Get Prophecy here.

Stay Connected
Knocked Loose

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more