New Noise Magazine is pleased to be bringing forth the premiere of the song “The Instant” by Abolitionist. This is the title track to the song, and a great way to peek into how the new record is going to sound. A calm chord progressions kicks off the track with a drum build before bursting in with a quick march of vocals, palm muted chords and rhythmic pulses. The Instant is out on May 1st, pre-orders will be live next month, but take a irst listen exclusively below.

“Two minutes to set the stage for a 12-song window into a speculatively fictitious world where everyone suddenly gives a fuck. Well, almost everyone.” – The Abolitionist

Formed in 2009 by vocalist/guitarist Dustin Herron, Abolitionist had a continually shifting lineup over the years before settling on the current lineup of Jeremy Dunlap on lead guitar, Joseph Mohler on bass/vocals, and Sean Rule (of the nineties east coast punk band, Plow United) on drums. After releasing three full-length vinyl LPs (all of which follow a dystopian storyline of some kind), and doing a tour around the western United States last summer, Abolitionist is set to release their fourth LP, The Instant.

Recorded in five days at Supernatural Sound Studios in Oregon City, Oregon, by engineer Robert Bartleson, and mastered by the mighty Jason Livermore at The Blasting Room, The Instant compiles 12 punchy tracks, drawing sonically from a variety of punk and hardcore influences. The album also explores (through yet another dystopian storyline) the human tendency to follow the herd in the name of lofty ideals — often at the expense of individual freedom, if not human life. The album art & layout was done by Horsebites (Fat Wreck Chords, Epitaph, The FEST), who previously did art & layout on the band’s first and third LPs.

With a 2.5 week tour planned for this upcoming July, Abolitionist is ready to charge into an increasingly unsettling future with nothing but two guitars, a bass, a drum kit, some amps, 146 combined years of life experience, and a couple of boxes of vinyl records for sale (maybe some shirts, too). Shit’s fucked, so let’s blow some eardrums.”

The artwork was done by Horsebites (Epitaph, Fat Wreck Chords, The Fest).

Find the band on: Facebook



This is a rock n' roll takeover.

Write A Comment