We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Moonraker’s new song “Wax Bath” (listen below). The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming album Fail Better, which is being released on October 14th through Felony Records. You can pre-order the album here.

The band comments on the new song:

“‘Wax Bath’ was the first song we wrote for the album. It really informed the vibe of the rest of the record. In the movie ‘Wanted,’ they use these wax baths to heal their wounds from battle and we joke about it a lot on tour. So we wrote a straight ahead punk song about how maybe a long nap in a wax bath can heal your frustrations with being broke, your unsatisfying job and your relationship problems. Or maybe you just need a night passed out on your friends bathroom floor. Who knows?”

Fail Better Track Listing:
1. The Horse I Rode In On
2. Some Enchanted Evening
3. Me vs Everyone
4. Wax Bath
5. The Gangs Returned to Class and Became Honor Students
6. Sandpaper Skin
7. The Story Is Happy End
8. Bronze Boys
9. X-Rays
10. The Illusionist
11. No, I Think You’re the Tarpit
12. And the Hearse I Rode Out In

About Moonraker:

Moonraker is a punk band from Santa Clarita, California which formed in 2011. The band features best friends Nick Schambra (bass) and David Green (drums), along with a revolving cast of guitarists.

Following the tradition of Alkaline Trio, The Lawrence Arms, etc, Moonraker strikes the right balance of melody self-depreciation and humor, all the while introspectively tackling the woes of everyday life. “Fail Better” is the culmination of five years of hard work all the while finding the right dynamic as a band.

David Green had this to say about the album: “We put everything we had into this record. We played until there was blood on our strings and drum heads. We sang and we yelled until we didn’t have voices. We stayed up recording into the late hours of the night after going all day until we were so tired it probably wasn’t safe to drive home. We wrote about some of the biggest hardships we’ve ever had to face. We captured the nothingness of feeling unfulfilled at a job you hate or the rejection of being let go from the same job you didn’t even like, but sorely needed. The songs are a catharsis for personal vendettas with everyone around you, and the crushing realization that none of these vendettas are reciprocated; no one’s against you, they’re just not thinking about you. After a year of extreme jealousy and indifference, watching close friends do great things while we questioned what we were even trying to accomplish, we were able to make something we were extremely proud of. This album is a conversation with yourself in the mirror. It’s trying to explain your actions and defend yourself to yourself. Maybe your actions don’t need to be defended. Maybe you don’t need to prove anything. Maybe you don’t need to be jealous. Maybe your reflection doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Maybe it’s fine that we’re not the golden boys, ‘cause we’re the bronze boys. ‘Cause when you land on your feet, you break both your ankles and when you’re not under the microscope, no one can see you sweating.”

Fail Better will serve as a follow-up to their String Theory EP, which was released on April 29, 2014.

Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter

1 Comment

  1. I loved it……but that cutie pie drummer is my nephew, so go figure.

Write A Comment