Photo by James Rexroad

We’re pleased to bring you the stream of Tiny Knives‘ new track “Cowschwitz” (listen below). The song is taken from the band’s forthcoming album Black Haze, out February 5th through Eolian Empire.

Tiny Knives cuts deep with Black Haze, their first vinyl release. Fixtures of the Portland underground scene for the last six years, Tiny Knives combines anarcho-punk with frenzied rock ‘n’ roll and douses it in avant madness. See-sawing between full-speed-ahead riffage and heavy emotional bulldozing, sprinkled with startling prettiness, the trio coheres these stylistic shifts into a sound that rings familiar bells while resolutely being their own thing. And in the three years since their excellent cassette Static (released on compatriot label Stankhouse) the members of Tiny Knives have clearly sharpened their chops and cranked up the intensity. The rhythm section is a fine-tuned propulsion engine that turns on a dime, built on ’77 fundamentals but often veering sideways into strange times and modes, driven by fuzzed-out chords and vocals that shapeshift through brutal growls, rapid-fire shouts, lovely balladeering, and spoken word tirades.

Purchase Black Haze here.

Black Haze Track Listing:
1. Dark History
2. Past Tense
3. Magic Xians
4. Silk In The Water
5. Cowschwitz
6. Lights In The Sky
7. The Fuck-!-
8. Winter

Tiny Knives - Black Haze cover

Write A Comment