We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Miami, FL based post hardcore outfit Dyne Side’s new song “Ask Columbus” (listen below). The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming sophomore LP Immigrant, which is scheduled to be released on August 11th. You can pre-order the album on iTunes.

Dyne Side vocalist Emmanuel Maya commented on the song:

“The song outlines the more sadistic side of Christopher Columbus. ‘It’s kind of like the non pastel painting of what we know and hear of the discovery of the Americas’ as Emmanuel likes to reference it. Under such a beautiful painting his discovery was portrayed to be there was a lot of things taken from the natives. The bridge reflects this in its lyrics ‘We want what you have, we take everything you have.'”

With the opening track, “An Argument With Myself,” Dyne Side draws a heavier influence reminiscent to Underoath. The guitar tones are raw, and there is a bass heavy leading riff delivering a punch in the vein of Norma Jean. Tracks like “Nothing to Lose” and “Ask Columbus” are the albums hits, swaying back and forth from their heavier and melodic sides, guided with a strong song structure. “Despite” is the somber pop hit on the record with production similar to Sade and Nine Inch Nails but vocals in tune with Glassjaw, and Head Automatica. Vocalist Emman Costa Maya has an exceptional range, and it is particularly showcased on this track.

The record relates to a lot to the human conditions and is explained through many different perspectives. Immigrant has a lot of open ended stories being told throughout that allow the listener a chance to connect with the tracks. The title is fitting too, as bass player Ariel Ramirez came to America with his parents on a boat from Cuba when he was 3 years old.

Immigrant was recorded and mixed by Paolo Angulo at The Heat Studios, and was mastered by Kris Crummett (Sleeping With Sirens, Issues, Drop Dead, Gorgeous) at Interlace Audio.

Connect with the band:
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Write A Comment