We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Jonathan Becker & The North Fields’ new album Sober Dawn (listen below).

The North Fields, on Sober Dawn, are Jonathan Becker with Laura Sinclair, Luke Pearson, Vance McBride, and Cory Levesque. Sober Dawn was recorded in Ottawa by Topon Das (Apartment 2) and mastered by Dean Watson (Gallery).

The recordings span the band’s short collaborative history in songwriting dating back to 2012. These studio sessions are a glimpse of their career as a hard-working Ottawa band and the dynamic in the record reflects their influences from rock ‘n’ roll through punk and country-folk. A project that both contrasts and compliments Becker’s solo work as a singer-songwriter having performed alternative folk music in Canada for a decade. The North Fields has become an outlet to capture the more nuanced songwriting alongside the energy from the punk community.

Ottawa artist Pascale Arpin did the cover artwork, which reflects the emotional vision of the album. This record was cathartic, and despite motifs of alcohol abuse and depression, a ‘sober dawn’ shows that we can find a new day rising.

You can download the album from Bandcamp next week, and it will be available on all major streaming platforms this summer.

2018 has already included a solo acoustic tour of Western Canada, and the band will be making their first appearances in the USA this summer.

Connect with the band:
Bandcamp | Facebook

1 Comment

Write A Comment