We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Microwaves’ new song “Via Weightlessness” (listen below). The song is the title track from the band’s forthcoming album, which is scheduled to be released on September 28, 2018 through Three One G. You can pre-order the album here.

John Roman of Microwaves commented: “Thrash metal and no wave punk collide to bring forth a vision of cybernetic filth. We mean it, man.”

Upcoming Shows:
September 29 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Howlers, record release show w/ Chantillion, Tartarus
October 11 – Canton, OH @ Buzz Bin
October 12 – Ferndale, MI @ Cellarmens
October 13 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom w/ Thee Oh Sees
October 24 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Howlers w/ Yautja
November 14 – Kingston, NY @ Tubby’s
November 15 – Worcester, MA @ Ralph’s
November 16 – Portland, ME @ Geno’s
November 17 – Providence, RI @ Dusk w/ Gnaw
November 18 – Brooklyn, NY @Ceremony w/ Gnaw

About the band:

Of innumerable bands that traffic in dissonance, the music of Pittsburgh, PA’s Microwaves shears clean and hot as an oxy-lance through the defenses of even the most cynical noise rock aficionado. The trio plies a no-wave/prog-thrash scree that evokes the doings of today’s renegade wetware punks who shove glass-sheathed RFID chips and rare-earth magnets into fresh incisions – dimensions away from the bluesy shot-and-beer heartland rock of their local bar scene. Bursting forth with 2001’s Professional Systems Overload EP and the following year’s System 2 (both featuring original bassist/vocalist Steve Moore, now of ZOMBI) John Roman (drums, formerly of the 1985, and current member of Night Vapor and Brown Angel) and David Kuzy (guitar, vocals) cycled through bass players for several years (including a stint as a synth/sampler-augmented duo) before joining with Johnny Arlett for their longest-running lineup to date. Over the years, Microwaves continued to pick up the loose ends left by Voivod, MX-80, Snakefinger, and some of their own Pittsburgh-area “math-rock” contemporaries, twisting them into a Gordian knot that at once rages and confounds.

Microwaves’ newest LP, Via Weightlessness, was recorded and mixed by Jason Jouver (who has played in Creta Bourzia, Don Caballero, Microwaves) at +/- Studio, and mastered by James Plotkin (who has played in Phantomsmasher, Khanate, Old Lady Drivers).

Via Weightlessness tones down their previous effects-heavy approach, charging lean and unabated toward their dystopian vision. Kuzy’s guitar chimes through the mix with spindly atonal runs more akin to data streams spat from an outdated mainframe, alternately careening into chugging, crossover-thrash riffs. The Roman/Arlett rhythm section is much more than the sum of its parts: Beefheartian clamor served up with cyborg precision underpins overdriven bass, rumbling forth frenziedly as a DMT-dosed rhino. Kuzy, the paranoid town crier, and Arlett, the unhinged shrieker, deliver a twin-vocal assault covering most topics previously found in your local video rental shop’s cult/sci-fi section.

Connect with the band:
Facebook | Instagram

Write A Comment