We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Pink Frost’s new album New Minds (listen below), which is scheduled to be officially released tomorrow, June 16th through Under Road Records.

Pink Frost vocalist/guitarist Adam Lukas commented:

“This record brings together the things we do best in new and interesting ways. Although the songs are fairly diverse, there is a unifying vision that joins them together. From the straight ahead rock tunes to the blissed out space jams, they all relate to and inform each other. They become bigger as a whole.”

Vocalist/guitarist Adam Lukas and guitarist Paige Sandlin with new bassist Alex Shumard and drummer Jesse Hozeny deftly steer these lyrical themes and sonic trajectories with a fitting starkness as well as melodic contrast. The album’s deep grey on black cover art nicely illustrates the mood captured within.

Album opener and title track “New Minds” wastes no time kicking things off full throttle, setting the album’s tone with driving downstroke guitars and fast-clip syncopated drums as Lukas sings, ”there’s no wrong/There’s no right/We hide in the light.” Surprisingly, the song about living in a post-truth world was written and recorded before the recent election cycle. Its vision of a looming dystopia just happened to arrive a bit early. “Bare Roots” hits like a long lost outtake from Black Sabbath’s Sabotage with a brick wall solid riff and Lukas’ wailing vocals leading the charge until the song suddenly subsides into a lulling respite of lightly plucked strings and whispered vocals. But the break is short-lived, as the song again erupts into an even more formidable obelisk of heavy riffs layered with a soaring guitar melody that continually builds upon itself until the song collapses under its own heft. “Avian” takes a turn to more psychedelic balladry of Arthur Lee & Love, showcasing the album’s further explorations into more subdued melodies. The simmering anthem “Burn Before Dawn” leads into the subtle album closer “We No Time” — a slight reference to the song “We Know Time” from the band’s first album, but even more so an adaptation of a song that precedes the band, originally recorded by Lukas on 4-track cassette using drum loops and sounds that were painstakingly reconstructed in the studio. While the song was being mixed, riots were breaking out in the streets during the inauguration of Donald Trump, which can be heard in news snippets fading in toward the end of the song.

New Minds was recorded in Chicago at Steve Albini’s legendary Electrical Audio studio with engineer Gregoire Yeche, just as the band has done on Sundowning (2013) and the Traitors EP (2014). “Electrical Audio is almost like another member of the band at this point,” Lukas says. “There is a purity to their method that captures the essence of the performance and preserves it in this magical 3-D way.”

Sundowning received an onslaught of praise from such revered outlets as Pitchfork, SPIN, Noisey, Magnet Magazine and Chicago Reader, as well as song placements in a feature film (“The Lookalike”), TV’s The Vampire Diaries, CSI: Miami and more. In December 2015, Pink Frost released a completely remixed, rethought and remastered version of their debut album Gargoyle Days, originally issued under the band’s former name Apteka.

Connect with the band:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter

Write A Comment