Mind Spiders Announce ‘Prosthesis’ LP, Stream New Song

Dirtnap Records has announced a new Mind Spiders LP, Prosthesis, coming out on March 11th, and unveiled a track from the album (listen below).

Prosthesis is the fourth album in 5 years from Mark Ryan’s shadowy, shape-shifting “solo” band.  Based in Ft. Worth, TX, Mind Spider’s launched pretty much immediately after Mark’s last project, the well-loved, highly-influential Marked Men went on indefinite hiatus at the beginning of 2009.

Earliest recordings were Mark playing more-or-less everything (except drums on some tracks), but since then the Mind Spiders lineup has been continually evolving, with Mark remaining the sole songwriter and constant member.  On this album, the lineup is Mark Ryan (Marked Men, Radioactivity, High Tension Wires, etc), Daniel Fried (Bad Sports, Radioactivity, Video, High Tension Wires, etc), Mike Throneberry (Marked Men) and Peter Salisbury (Baptist Generals/Sub Pop Records).  Currently, the live band is a guitar-keyboard/drum 3 piece featuring Mark, Mike and Peter.

Keyboard and guitar blend seamlessly into ominous, bleak (yet somehow still super catchy!) dark pop explorations, also incorporating postpunk, bedroom pop, krautrock, and tons of other obscure references throughout the 8-song LP.  The first Mind Spiders album to be recorded at Mark and Jeff Burke’s (Radioactivity, Marked Men) new Cool Devices studio in Ft. Worth, this is easily their best, fullest sounding effort yet!

Look for Mind Spiders at Dirtnap Records SXSW Showcase!

Stay Connected

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more