Here are ten new releases you should be listening to this week!

Defeater – “Mothers’ Sons”

Album: Defeater (Epitaph Records)

Defeater are finally back with a self-titled record, their first full-length album since 2015. The lead single, “Mothers’ Sons,” is angsty melodic hardcore at it’s finest; Defeater fans won’t be disappointed.

Employed To Serve – “Force Fed”

Album: Eternal Forward Motion (Spinefarm Records)

Employed To Serve play throwback metalcore that fans of the early 2000’s boom of the genre will appreciate. “Force Fed,” a single from the band’s new record Eternal Forward Motion, is aggressive, heavy, and ends in a sick breakdown that will melt your face off.

USA Nails – “Smile”

Album: Life Cinema” (Hex Records)

UK-based noise punk band USA Nails are the type of group that has that gift where they can write songs that are creative, interesting, and a tad bit experimental while also being catchy. “Smile,” the opening track from the band’s new record, Life Cinema, has a spazzy, youthful energy that sinks its teeth into you before you know what’s happening.

The Woolly Bushmen – “Going Out West”

Album: IN SHAMBLES (Pig Baby Records)

If you’re a fan of good, old-fashioned, groovy, rock ‘n’ roll, look no further than “Going Out West” from The Woolly Bushmen’s new album IN SHAMBLES. Make sure you’re in a location where you have plenty of room to safely do the twist.

IDLE HANDS – “Give Me To The Night”

Album: Mana (Eisenwald Records)
Portland heavy metal band IDLE HANDS are back with some major shreddage. “Give Me To The Night,” a track off of Mana, which is out today, sounds larger than life, a perfect Friday night anthem.

Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties – “Bury Me Anywhere Else”

Album: Routine Maintenance (Hopeless Records)

Singer-songwriter Aaron West’s emotionally charged vocals are complemented on this track by a full band which even includes a horn section. Fans of emo-folk should pick up his new album Routine Maintenance which is out today on Hopeless Records.

Charly Bliss – “Chatroom”

Album: Young Enough (Barsuk Records)

Charly Bliss exploded onto the scene in 2017 with the release of their debut LP, Guppy. Their follow-up album , Young Enough, is one of the most highly anticipated of 2019, and if the lead single, “Chatroom,” is any indication, it has all the things people loved about the first record: charming, catchy music positioned behind Eva Hendricks’ unique vocals.

The Get Up Kids – “Satellite”

Album: Problems (Polyvinyl Records)

The Get Up Kids helped guide emo out of the 90s and into the 2000s. Now, the band have teamed up with Polyvinyl to release their first full-length in eight years. “Satellite” is similar to the music the band put out in the past but wiser and more mature. The band grew with their fans.

CJ Ramone – “Blue Skies”

Album:  The Holy Spell (Fat Wreck Chords)

As his name implies, CJ Ramone is best known for his time in The Ramones. But, in the past decade, he has distinguished himself as a solo artist. On “Blue Skies,” a single off his new record The Holy Spell, Ramone sings in typical pop-punk fashion about not seeking to relive the past; the best days are yet to come.

Big Nothing – “Real Name”

Album: Chris (Salinas Records)

“Real Name” is an emotional melodic track from Big Nothing’s new album, Chris. It’s a great, singalong anthem that will be a hit in all-ages, DIY venues across the country.


John Silva is a writer based out of Indianapolis who loves pro wrestling almost as much as he loves music. You can follow him on Twitter @hawkeyesilva.

Write A Comment