Here are ten new releases you should be listening to this week!

Death Angel – “Humanicide”

Album: Humanicide (Nuclear Blast Records)

“Humanicide” is the title track to Death Angel’s new album. It’s a fast, aggressive song from the Bay Area metal group that throws back to old-school thrash.

Toxpack – “Arschloch”

Album: Kämpfer (Napalm Records)

“Arschloch” is a riffy, party rock song from from Berlin-based Toxpack. Flaming guitar solos blast through this very fun 3.5-minute hardcore track.

Sacred Paws – “The Conversation”

Album: Run Around The Sun (Merge Records)

Run Around The Sun is the second album from U.K. indie rock duo Sacred Paws. “The Conversation,” a poppy single off the album, has pretty guitar noodles all throughout, and it feels like a perfect song, as the music video implies, for blasting while cruising down a long highway.

Remo Drive – “Around the Sun”

Album: Natural, Everyday Degradation (Epitaph Records)

Remo Drive have rapidly risen in popularity alongside the emo revival over the past half decade. They are one of the most talented young acts in this rich genre, and their new album, Natural, Everyday Degradation, is a great place to start if you’re new to the band and want to see what all the well-deserved hype is about.

Frank Iero and The Future Violents – “Young and Doom”

Album: Barriers (UNFD Records)

“Young and Doom” by Frank Iero and The Future Violents is a gigantic-sounding arena-rock song. Check it out, and then dive into the rest of his new record, Barriers, out today on UNFD Records.

Bracket – “Canned From the Food Drive”

Album: Too Old to Die (Fat Wreck Chords)

Left Coast rock group Bracket are veterans of the punk scene with 25 years of DIY experience under their belt. The band have returned to their old home, Fat Wreck Chords, for a new album of upbeat pop punk jams.

Carousel Kings – “Monarch”

Album: Plus Ultra (Victory Records)

Carousel Kings write easy-core tunes for the kids who weren’t quite ready for Warped Tour to end last year. Fans of this brand of pop punk should listen to the single “Monarch” and then check out the rest of the new album from the Victory Records band.

Apex Manor – “Where My Mind Goes”

Album: Heartbreak City (Merge Records)

Apex Manor are an indie group that sounds like a modern version of the alternative rock that was popular in the 90s. “Where My Mind Goes,” a catchy song that blends both a classic and modern sound, is both enjoyable and downright charming.

Mike Frazier – “Stay The Same”

Album: Where The Valley Kissed The Sky (Geneva Records)

“Stay The Same,” a single off Mike Frazier’s new album, The Valley Kissed The Sky, feels very American in the way it blends sounds of Springsteen and Tom Petty. The Virginia-based artist knows how to draw listeners in; his music is like a novel that you can’t put down.

Darkthrone – “Duke of Gloat”

Album: Old Star (Peaceville Records)

Scandinavian black metal legends Darkthrone are releasing their *seventeenth* record today. “Duke of Gloat” is a riff heavy ripper of a song from the Norwegian band that will satisfy both longtime fans and newcomers.


John Silva is a writer based out of Indianapolis who loves pro wrestling almost as much as he loves music. You can follow him on Twitter @hawkeyesilva.

Write A Comment