Here are five new albums you should check out this week!

Russian Circles – “Arluck”

Album: Blood Year (Sargent House Records)

Over the past decade-and-a-half, Russian Circles have risen to become the preeminent instrumental metal band. They’re not slowing down anytime soon. They just put out their  seventh studio album, and it sounds just as sprawling and massive as everything else they’ve done.

Slaughter Beach, Dog – “One Down”

Album: Safe and Also No Fear (Lame-O Records)

Safe And Also No Fear is the name of Slaughter Beach, Dog’s new album, and it could also be an apt description of the album’s opener, “One Down.” The gentle track feels like a walk through the woods on a crisp, fall day.

Ty Segall – “Ice Plant”

Album: First Taste (Drag City Records)

For a song with few instruments besides the human voice,  singer/songwriter Ty Segall did a great job of making this song sound full. The wall of voices behind him complete the “First Taste” just as effectively as any backing band.

Have Mercy – “Claire”

Album: The Love Life (Hopeless Records)

Have Mercy have become massively popular in recent years. The Baltimore pop punk group’s new record is likely one of the most anticipated of 2019 for this genre. Check out “Clair,” the catchy single off The Love Life, and then stream the rest of the album today!

Signals Midwest – “Your New Old Apartment”

Album: Pin (Lauren Records)

Cleveland emo/pop punk group Signals Midwest released a new EP, Pin, on Lauren Records today. “Your New Old Apartment” is the upbeat fourth track and has hooky guitar licks that will make you want to listen over and over.


John Silva is a writer based out of Indianapolis who loves pro wrestling almost as much as he loves music. You can follow him on Twitter @hawkeyesilva.

Write A Comment