News: KOYO Announce Long-Awaited Album ‘Onism’

Leeds Conservatoire alumni KOYO have announced the release of their third album, Onism. They’ve also put out a double single release in August, with “La Cucaracha” and “Mechanical Bull.” These are the opening two tracks off of Onism.

Their latest release is simultaneously a token of appreciation to those who donated to the kickstarter and a kick up the arse to all who haven’t. The album is a promised reward to those who’ve waited nearly four years for KOYO’s return in their signature melding of alternative, psychedelic and progressive rock.

KOYO on “Mechanical Bull”:

“It’s hard enough keeping your head above water in this life, and there’s value in simply staying afloat. On the one hand, you don’t wanna let go of that spark, that boyhood dream and become another cog in the machine. On the other, if you’re not careful, you can fall into the trap of putting all in the rockstar dream. If you’re simply riding the mechanical bull, staying alive and keeping your ducks in a row, then hats off to you for that. Not all of us wanna be the Instagram influencer!”

KOYO are comprised of four alumni from Leeds Conservatoire: Huw Edwards (lead vocals/guitar), Jacob Price (sampling/synths), Layth Ibrahim (bass), and Tom Higham (drums). They’re known for their live performances and the energy during each of them. They’ve opened for big festivals such as the BBC Introducing Stage at the Reading and Leeds festivals as well as major events like Rockaway Beach, Live at Leeds, and Download Festival.

During the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown, KOYO, took the time to focus on their third album, Onism. The album was written during that period of time and they have recently released two new tracks for the upcoming project. After You Said It was released, they had an identity crisis in regards to what this album would be. It came to them after abandoning their egos and reconnecting with the childlike enthusiasm that kicked the band off in the first place.

Onism Track List: 

  1. La Cucaracha
  2. Mechanical Bull
  3. Hooked
  4. Electric Eel
  5. Dark Horse
  6. Into The Dirt
  7. Is This Real?
  8. Stoneman
  9. Existential Crisis [Bonus Track]
Stay Connected
Knocked Loose

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

 Learn more