The Lawrence Arms have released their long-awaited, seventh studio album, Skeleton Coast, out now on Epitaph Records.

Skeleton Coast is the bands’ first release in six years and was recorded in Tornillo, TX, a border town of Mexico, at Sonic Ranch Studios with longtime producer Matt Allison.

The album was written and recorded way before our current state of pandemic panic, but it’s eerily relevant as it tells the stories of an apocalyptic future where coyotes croon and wolf packs roam free. There’s some hidden positivity mixed in with the dark lyrical context though, as vocalist/bassist Brendan Kelly explains:

“For a band who has been around as long as us, this is about as urgent of a record as we could make. It may be kind of dark, but it’s really about searching for light in the darkness and finding it, as small as those moments may seem. That’s sort of where we’re at: Collecting the scraps of things that could make for a bearable existence in dark times.”

Listen to Skeleton Coast on Spotify below, and buy the album here.

We’re featuring The Lawrence Arms on the cover of issue #53 with art by The Preative and an exclusive flexi—check it out and grab one while you can here (or click the image below). You can also read our review of the album here.

New Noise Magazine Issue 53 - Lawrence Arms

Skeleton Coast Track Listing

  1. Quiet Storm
  2. PTA
  3. Belly Of The Whale
  4. Dead Man’s Coat
  5. Pigeons and Spies
  6. Last Last Words
  7. Demon
  8. Ghostwriter
  9. How To Rot
  10. Under Paris
  11. Goblin Fox Hunt
  12. Lose Control
  13. Don’t Look At Me
  14. Coyote Crown

Pop-culture journo: currently blabbing-on at Horror Geek Life, Filmbusters & New Noise Magazine. Punk rock fangrrrl, horror nerd, lipstick lover & pizza aficionado. Be Excellent to Each Other.

Write A Comment