Following the celebrated solo albums Je suis le Ténébreux (2016) and Paradise Lost (2018) by Christopher James Chaplin, the London-based, avant-garde musician and composer released his third solo album, M, on June 1. Here’s the video for “A Sea Change.”

“The M album is about change,” Chaplin says. “The letter “M” refers to the Hebrew letter Mem, which, in the alphabet of Kabbalah, points to the origin of many words such as: mother, womb, birth, water, flood, death, and through its gematria (the number 4), Mem is linked to quarantine and transformation. The album consists of three tracks containing verses taken from three different poems: “Metamorphosis” by Ovid, “Full Fathom Five” by Shakespeare, and “Mutability” by Shelley.

“I’ve been really fortunate during the writing of this album to have met Finley Quaye. It resulted in him contributing so invaluably to the track ‘Metamorphosis.’ I’ve also been thrilled to feature the wonderful singing voice of Mira Lu Kovacs in the track ‘A Sea Change’ as well as having Carl Michael von Hausswolff’s permission to use a sample from his sonic extraction of the HIV virus DNA chain.

“In the third and final track, ‘Mutability,’ I am joined by Aurelia Thierree in speaking some lines from Percy Shelley’s poem of the same title. Its last line of that poem was the catalyst for this whole M album: ‘Nought may endure but Mutability.'” 

Preorder the album here. 


Addison is reviews and online news editor for New Noise. She specializes in metal, queer issues, and dog cuddles.

Write A Comment