As Bandcamp have stepped up to support the music community during the COVID-19 pandemic by waiving the site’s revenue share one day a month since March, artists have found new and creative ways to offer content to fans. Pup will push that further this Friday with a live album available for that day only and exclusive to Bandcamp.

Live At The Electric Ballroom comes from the band’s performances at London’s Electric Ballroom on November 21 and 22, 2019. The Toronto pop-punk band previously released a live video, filmed in part by audience members provided with budget cameras, from those same shows.

The band offer a statement on the release:

“We never planned on putting these recordings out because we expected them to suck. They were mostly just for ourselves, to mark what we considered to be a pretty big moment in our careers. But turns out, they suck a bit less than we expected.

“So, in typical Pup fashion, we made a plan to release them in a self-sabotaging, stupid way. The record will be sold for one day only. After that, it’s gone. Everyone we work with told us it’s a terrible idea. And they are definitely right. But one of the reasons we love working with them is because sometimes they agree to let us fuck up on our own terms and rally behind us in a supportive way.”

Fifty percent of the proceeds will be donated to Critical Resistance + Breakaway Addiction Services in Toronto.

Find more on Pup’s Bandcamp.

Live at The Electric Ballroom Tracklist 
1. Morbid Stuff
2. Kids
3. My Life Is Over And I Couldn’t Be Happier
4. Back Against The Wall
5. Free At Last
6. Dark Days
7. Scorpion Hill
8. Reservoir
9. Family Patterns
10. Full Blown Meltdown
11. If This Tour Doesn’t Kill You, I Will + DVP


Cameron Carr's writing has appeared in New Noise Magazine, Tuned Up, Susbtream Magazine, and The Deli, among other publications.

Write A Comment